Skip to content

Webby Press Release




Contact: Aaron Reynolds

EFFIN’ BIRDS NAMED BEST SOCIAL: WEIRD ACCOUNT IN THE 26th ANNUAL WEBBY AWARDS; Effin’ Birds Tops the Shortlist for International Awards Honoring Best of Internet. Visit to see Effin’ Birds author Aaron Reynolds’ hallmark 5-word acceptance speech and follow #Webbys on Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook, and experience the 26th Annual Webby Awards Internet Celebration on Monday, May 16, 2022.

TORONTO, ONTARIO — April 26th, 2022 – Author Aaron Reynolds announced today that Effin’ Birds has been named the Best Weird Social Media Account in the 26th Annual Webby Awards Internet Celebration. Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards, presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS), is the leading international awards organization honoring excellence on the Internet. IADAS, which nominates and selects The Webby Award Winners, is comprised of Internet industry experts including Arlan Hamilton, Founder and Managing Partner, Backstage Capital; Ziwe Fumudoh, Comedian & Writer; Quinta Brunson, Writer, Director and Actor; Felecia Hatcher, CEO, Black Ambition, Sridhar Ramaswamy; Co-Founder & CEO, Neeva; David Droga; Founder and Chairman, Droga5, R/GA; Kerstin Emhoff, Co-Founder & CEO, PRETTYBIRD; Dan Pfeiffer, Co-Host, Pod Save America and Werner Vogels, VP & CTO Amazon.

Effin’ Birds is a one-panel comic strip that has been published daily to social media since 2017, pairing mundane, curse-laden complaints about the author’s daily life with beautiful bird artwork.

“Effin’ Birds has set the standard for innovation and creativity on the Internet,” said Claire Graves, Executive Director of The Webby Awards. “This award is a testament to the skill, ingenuity, and vision of its creator.”

“I have been writing a sweary bird cartoon every day for five goddamned years now,” said author Aaron Reynolds, “so it’s about fucking time that someone recognized that I’m weird.”

Effin’ Birds will be honored at the 26th Annual Webby Awards in New York City on May 16th, hosted by Roy Wood Jr.

This year’s Webby Special Achievement honorees include: Megan Thee Stallion (Webby Artist of the Year), Anil Dash and Kevin McCoy (Webby Lifetime Achievement), Takashi Murakami (Webby Special Achievement), Drew Barrymore (Webby Special Achievement), Adam Scott (Webby Best Actor), and #saygay (Webby Social Movement of the Year).

Hosted by comedian Roy Wood Jr. (The Daily Show with Trevor Noah, Roy Wood Jr.: Imperfect Messenger) the Webby Awards’ star-studded ceremony – presented by Verizon – will take place in New York City on Monday, May 16, and will celebrate the best of the Internet. Fans can follow and watch show highlights including hallmark 5-Word Speeches from the night’s big winners on May 16th at #Webbys on Instagram and Twitter, and the show at


Aaron Reynolds is the Webby Award-winning author of Effin’ Birds, a comic strip pairing intricate artwork with mundane daily frustrations read by over half a million people every day. His first book, Effin’ Birds: A Field Guide To Identification, hit bookstores in 2019 and for seven whole days was the bestselling book by any Canadian author not named Margaret Atwood. Prior to writing Effin’ Birds as his full-time gig, Aaron was the creative director for a podcast network, a software trainer for Apple, and a Santa Claus photographer at the worst mall in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada.

Find Effin’ Birds Online:
Instagram: @effinbirds
Twitter: @effinbirds

 Find The Webby Awards Online:

Instagram: @TheWebbyAwards
Twitter: @TheWebbyAwards
Snapchat: TheWebbyAwards

About The Webby Awards:

Hailed as the “Internet’s highest honor” by The New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international awards organization honoring excellence on the Internet, includingWebsites and Mobile Sites, Video, Advertising, Media & PR, Apps and Software, Social, Podcasts, Games, and Virtual & Remotes. Established in 1996, this year’s Webby Awards received nearly 14,000 entries from all 50 states and 70 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS). Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include Verizon, WP Engine, Canva, Omidyar Network, YouGov, NAACP, KPMG, Fast Company, Wall Street Journal, MediaPost, Podcast Movement, TheFutureParty and AIGA.